What are the different types of GST Registration?

GST is intended to reduce tax evasion, promote a broader tax base, and enhance compliance. It classifies goods and services into different tax slabs, usually based on their nature and essentiality. The exact rates and exemptions can vary among countries implementing GST. After knowing what GST Registration is, one should be aware of the various types of GST Registration in India

GST is designed to swap numerous indirect taxes that were previously applicable, streamlining the taxation system. It aims to wipe out the drifting effect of taxes and create a more transparent and efficient tax structure. Many countries around the world have adopted GST or similar systems to simplify taxation.

What is Goods and Service Tax?

Goods and Service tax (GST) is a value-added tax collected on the supply of goods and services at each stage of the distribution and production chain.

The key features of GST include input tax credit and the destination principle, where businesses can claim credit for taxes paid on their purchases, and the tax revenue is collected by the government where the goods and services are consumed respectively.

What are the different types of GST Registration?

GST Registration types

GST Registration also means applying for a unique GST number or Goods and Service Tax Identification number (GSTIN) which is GST number on the portal.

Different types of GST Registration are:

  • Compulsory GST Registration:
    • Compulsory GST registration is required for the business’s aggregate when turnover crosses the prescribed threshold set by the tax authorities. If your turnover exceeds the specified limit, you must register for GST to comply with tax regulations.
  • Voluntary GST Registration:
    • By opting for Voluntary GST registration, a business can get the option to proactively participate in the formal tax system, even if their turnover doesn’t exceed the mandatory threshold set by tax authorities.
    • Voluntary GST registration businesses can unlock various benefits, including the ability to claim input tax credits on purchases, which can enhance their overall financial efficiency.
    • Businesses opting for voluntary GST registration not only enhance their credibility and facilitate seamless interstate transactions. They also demonstrate a commitment to transparency and compliance, positioning themselves as responsible participants in the tax ecosystem.
    • In addition, voluntary registration empowers these businesses to contribute to the broader tax base, promoting economic accountability and actively supporting government revenue initiatives.
  • Registration under the Composition Scheme:
    • The Goods and Services Tax Composition Scheme in India is designed to simplify compliance for small businesses. To join this scheme, businesses must maintain an aggregate turnover below a specific threshold, which varies by state. Eligible businesses can commence the registration process by submitting Form GST CMP-02 on the official GST portal.
    • Accuracy in providing information and adherence to outlined conditions are crucial during this procedure. Once successfully registered, businesses opting for the composition scheme benefit from reduced compliance requirements and a fixed payment structure.
    • It’s important to note that businesses under this scheme are not allowed to collect or pass on input tax credits. Keeping updated on any changes in GST regulations and fulfilling necessary obligations is recommended for ensuring the smooth operation of the business.
  • No GST Registration:
    • No GST registration typically refers to businesses or individuals that are not required or not eligible to register for Goods and Services Tax.
    • In many countries, there is a threshold turnover limit below which businesses are not mandated to register for GST. Small businesses or those operating below this threshold may fall into the category of “NO GST REGISTRATION”.

What are the types of GST?

Goods and services tax typically has 4 types. They are: CGST, SGST, IGST & UTGST

Types of GST
  • Central Goods and Service Tax (CGST):
    • CGST is one of the components along with State Goods and Services Tax (SGST) that make up the total GST levied on transactions. It is a part of the Goods and Services Tax system in India where tax is collected by the central government on the supply of goods and services within a state.
  • State Goods and Services Tax (SGST):
    • The State Goods and Services Tax (SGST) is a tax levied by the state government on the supply of goods and services within a state. SGST is part of the dual GST system, alongside the CGST.
  • Integrated Goods and Services Tax (IGST):
    • IGST applies to Transactions involving the supply of goods and services between different states or Union territories. Unlike the Central Goods and Services Tax (CGST) and State Goods and Services Tax (SGST), which are levied on inter-state transactions, IGST is collected by the central government.
  • Union Territory Goods and Services Tax (UTGST):
    • The Union Territory Goods and Services Tax (UTGST) is a component of the Goods and Services Tax in India. It applies to the Union Territories of India. UTGST is levied on the supply of goods and services within a Union Territory.


In conclusion, GST registration offers a range of options tailored to diverse business situations, providing a systematic and thorough approach to taxation based on turnover, business category, and specific needs. Businesses have the flexibility to select the registration type that best suits their operational nature and aligns with their obligations within the GST framework.

The types of GST registration accommodates the requirements of various entities, fostering an equitable and effective taxation system. Opting for the right registration type is crucial for businesses to adhere to legal requirements and leverage pertinent benefits or schemes offered within the GST framework.

1. What is GST Registration?

GST Registration is the process where a business signs up for the Goods and Services Tax system.
It’s necessary for businesses to legally operate and follow GST laws, especially if they reach a specific turnover or engage in certain activities.

2. What occurs once the GST registration is finished?

Upon successful GST registration, you receive a GSTIN and a registration certificate. As a registered taxpayer, adherence to GST regulations becomes mandatory. This enables engagement in interstate commerce, collecting GST from clients, securing input tax credits, and fulfilling GST return filing obligations.

3. What papers do I need for GST registration?

Proof of identity, proof of address, Bank Account details, documents proving business registration and info on authorized signatories.

4. What varieties of GST registration exist?

The categories include Regular, Composition Scheme, Casual, Non-Resident, and SEZ registrations.

5. Why is GST registration important for businesses?

GST registration is crucial for businesses to operate legally under the Goods and Services Tax system. It ensures compliance with GST laws, especially for those meeting specific turnover criteria or involved in particular activities.

6. What are the different types of GST registration?

The different types of GST registration in India are; Normal Taxpayer, Compulsory Registration, Casual Taxable Person, and Voluntary Registration.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top