Which ITR should I file: 7 Types of Income Tax Return Forms

An Income Tax Return is a document that every taxpayer should file with the Bureau of Internal Revenue (BIR) to declare, profits, expenses, losses, and other information related to the last financial year. The taxpayer should submit those details every quarter of every year. To complete a successful ITR filing, the taxpayer should meet certain criteria. One among them is understanding the types of Income Tax Return forms.

What is an Income Tax Return?

Income Tax Return (ITR) is a form that taxpayers use to report their income and assets to the Income Tax Department of India. Every taxpayer is required to file their ITR by the department’s deadline each year. The tax paid by taxpayers is determined by their work status, direct and passive income sources, investments, and so forth.

What are the types of Income Tax Return forms?

Indian taxpayers can choose from seven distinct types of Income Tax Return forms. These forms are designed for both individual taxpayers and organisations. The sort of ITR form you must use is determined by whether you are a person or a business, your total income, and the sources of your income.

What are the 7 types of Income Tax Return Forms

Here is a list of seven different types of Income Tax Return forms.

1.  ITR-1 or Sahaj

Individuals who fit into one of the following groups should use ITR-1 (also known as Sahaj).

  • Earners of salaries and pensions.
  • Other sources of income (excluding winning the lottery or horse racing).
  • Agricultural earnings of less than INR 5,000.
  • Payments received for a single-family home with specific exceptions.

2. ITR-2

Individuals and Hindu United Families (HUF) who fall into the following categories should file ITR-2.

  • Earnings over INR 50 lakh from salaries, pensions, capital gains, and other sources.
  • The income earned by overseas assets.
  • Agricultural revenue above INR 5,000.

3. ITR-3

Individuals and Hindu United Families who fall under one of the following categories should use ITR-3.

  • Earnings from a company or profession.
  • Earnings from being a partner in a firm.
  • Earnings from salary, pension, capital gains, and other sources.
  • Equity investments in unlisted companies.
  • Company’s director.

4. ITR-4 or Sugam

Individuals, Hindu United Families, and corporations having a business or professional income of up to INR 50 lakh can use the ITR 4 form. Furthermore, persons who have chosen the presumptive income plan under Sections 44AD, 44ADA, and 44AE of the Income Tax Act may file their returns using the ITR 4 form.

5. ITR-5

The ITR-5 form is intended for businesses, bodies of individuals, cooperative societies, limited liability partnerships, associations of persons, local authorities, artificial judicial persons, estates of the insolvent and deceased, and business trusts (not individual citizens).

6. ITR-6

Companies must complete the ITR-6 form electronically, except those that claim tax exemption under Section 11, which is revenue from religious or charitable property.

7. ITR-7

Companies that file returns under the following provisions of the Income Tax Act may utilize ITR-7:

  • Individuals who own property for charity or religious purposes are exempt under Section 139(4A).
  • Political parties and affiliates are included under Section 139(4B).
  • Section 139(4C): Institutions or associations such as medical institutions, news organisations, establishments, educational institutions, think tanks, and scientific research organisations.
  • Section 139(4D): Colleges and universities, as well as other institutions where revenue and losses are not obliged to be reported under the Act’s requirements.

Aspiring Home Loan applicants must become acquainted with Indian tax regulations and complete the appropriate ITR form since lenders need borrowers to submit their income tax returns when applying for a home loan. The ITR form acts as proof of income and identifies their sources of income. This enables the lender to analyse the creditworthiness of the borrower.


In conclusion, an Income Tax Return is a document stating your income and expenses. There are various types of Income Tax Return forms, such as ITR-1 to ITR-7, which are crucial for taxpayers in India to accurately report their income and comply with the regulations set forth by the Income Tax Department.

24efiling has developed a dedicated platform that allows individuals and corporate organisations to simply file their income tax forms. The process of submitting your income tax return may be completed in a matter of minutes.

1. What are the different types of Income Tax Return forms?

The Income Tax Department has notified 7 types of Income Tax Return forms. They are: ITR-1, ITR-2, ITR-3, ITR-4, ITR-5, ITR-6 and ITR-7.

2. What is my ITR filing type?

There are 7 different types of Income Tax Return forms, they are:
ITR-1: For individuals with salaries, pensions, and other income.
ITR-2: For individuals and HUFs with income above INR 50 lakh, foreign assets, etc.
ITR-3: For individuals and HUFs earning from a profession or company.
ITR-4: For individuals, HUFs, and businesses with income up to INR 50 lakh.
ITR-5: Meant for businesses, bodies of individuals, cooperative societies, etc.
ITR-6: Mandatory for companies.
ITR-7: Used by entities filing returns under specific provisions.

3. What is Tax Deducted at Source (TDS) in Income Tax?

TDS is the tax deducted by the employer or deductor from the money paid for making some specified payments such as rent, commission, salary, etc. for those who make such payments.

4. Which ITR form should I use?

In 7 different types of Income Tax Return forms the choice of ITR form depends on your income sources.
For example, ITR-1 is for individuals with salary income, while ITR-4 is for those with income from business and profession. The Income Tax Department provides a guide to help individuals to determine the right form based on your financial activities.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top